Basadi in Music Awards 2024 Nominations open


“BIMA is more than an awards ceremony; it’s a platform for celebrating women’s extraordinary talent and resilience in music and entertainment…”

The race is on for the highly coveted Basadi in Music Awards (BIMA) honours. Nominations are currently opened until 19 May 2024. There are up to 22 categories where names of eligible creatives may be submitted.

Now in its third year, BIMA continues to shine the spotlight on phenomenal achievements of women in all facets of the industry, from captivating singers and rappers to skilled DJs, composers, producers, and the creative minds behind the scenes.

This year’s ceremony, set for 10 August 2024 at the iconic Mandela Stage at Joburg Theatre, carries the powerful theme “Girl in the Mirror – Our Re.Flexion”.

The public can nominate by sending the category code and name of their favourite candidate to 49960, for example (Afropop Brenda). You can nominate as many times as you would like. SMS costs R2, and free SMSes do not apply. Terms and conditions apply.

Artists must have released music between 1 April 2023 and 31 March 2024 to be eligible for a nomination in the music categories.

For the technical categories, such as Entertainment Journalist of the Year, Entertainment Radio Presenter of the Year, Entertainment Radio Producer of the Year, the candidate nominated must have been actively working during the qualifying period of 1 April 2023 to 31 March 2024.

For the first time, BIMA will offer weekly prizes to voting participants. These will be announced on our social media channels weekly.

Founded in 2022, BIMA is a powerful platform for recognition and empowerment, significantly impacting the music industry. In the inaugural event big winners were Lamiez Holworthy who walked away with DJ of the Year and Entertainment Radio Presenter of the Year awards. Makhadzi was victorious as Artist of the Year award winner and Pabi Cooper clinched Song of the Year award.

Last year’s ceremony saw iconic wins. Lwah Ndlunkulu dominated the scene, winning both Artist of the Year and Song of the Year for Ithuba featuring Siya Ntuli. Ntokozo Mbambo bagged the Gospel Artist of the Year award. Khutso Theledi won Entertainment Radio Presenter of the Year award.

 Joburg City Theatres CEO Xoliswa Nduneni Ngema said: “Joburg Theatre is committed to supporting and showcasing diverse talent and celebrating excellence in the arts. Of course, we’re thrilled to host the ceremony and celebrate their artistry on the iconic Mandela Stage. With nominations now open, we’re particularly excited to see the high calibre of talent BIMA will undoubtedly attract this year.”

Basadi In Music Awards CEO Hloni Modise-Matau enthused: “BIMA is more than an awards ceremony; it’s a platform for celebrating women’s extraordinary talent and resilience in music and entertainment. We’re thrilled to launch the campaign for BIMA 2024 nominations. This year’s theme underscores the importance of introspection and growth, qualities that women in the music and entertainment industry embody perfectly. We encourage the public to actively participate and nominate those who inspire them.”

Below is the complete list of voting categories and codes:

1.Amapiano Artist of the Year    (Amapiano)

2.        Artist of the Year    (Artist)

3.        Best Styled Artist of the Year      (Styled)

4. Collaboration of the Year         (Collab)

5.        Dance Artist of the Year   (Dance)

6.        DJ of the Year          (DJ)

7.        Entertainment Journalist of the Year    (Journo)

8. Entertainment Radio Presenter of the Year           (RadioPresenter)

9. Entertainment Radio producer of the Year (RadioProducer)

10.      Entertainment TV producer of the Year           (TVProducer)

11.      Gospel Artist of the Year  (Gospel)

12. Hip Hop Artist of the Year     (Hiphop)

13. Jazz Artist of the Year (Jazz)

14       Music TV Show presenter of the Year   (TVpresenter)

15.      Music Video of the Year   (Musicvideo)

16.      Newcomer of the Year      (Newcomer)

17.      Pop Artist of the Year        (Pop)

18. Reggae Artist of the Year       (Reggae)

19.      Sofnfree Afro Pop Artist of the Year      (Afropop)

20.      Song of the Year     (Song)

21.      Songwriter of the Year      (Songwriter)

22.      Traditional Artist of the Year       (Traditional)

For more information about Basadi in Music Awards the nomination process, and the terms and conditions, please visit and Basadi in Music Awards social media pages.

By Sinenzolo Mondi – Nduku