Radio Awards 2021 finalists announced


This is the eleventh year that The Radio Awards honours outstanding achievements across Campus, Community, Public Broadcast, and Commercial radio, setting benchmarks for all stations and professionals to strive towards.

Taryn Westoby, Head of Arena Events – which hosts The Radio Awards – believes that despite the challenges of the on-going lockdown, the “quality of entries received has been remarkable considering the circumstances of Covid-19 and remote working.

“We congratulate the radio industry on their hard work and perseverance in delivering valuable content to their listeners and ensuring that radio remains one of South Africa’s foremost media choices.”

The Radio Awards entries were adjudicated by a panel of 40 judges and reviewed by BDO South Africa, auditors of The Radio Awards. Entries for this year’s awards were required to be broadcast on FM or AM, (and in the online radio category) between 01 January 2020 and 31 December 2020.

Visit to view the full list of finalists in the following general categories:Afternoon Drive Presenter, Afternoon Drive Show, Breakfast Show Presenter, Breakfast Show, Internet Radio Show, Business and Finance Show, Community Project, Content Producer, Daytime Show, Drama Programme, Field News Reporter, Multi-channel Promotion, Music Show, News and Actuality Show, News Bulletin Reader, Night-time Show, Podcast, Promotions Stunt/Event, Radio Documentary, Radio Innovation, Sports Presenter, Sports Show, Station Imaging, Traffic Presenter, Weekend Radio Show, My Station Most Votes, My Station Most Loyal Listeners.

Finalists in the special nomination categories – Station Manager’s Choice, the Bursary AwardBright Stars and Hall of Fame inductees, as well as the Station of the Year category, will be announced on Wednesday, 23 June 2021.

81 awards will be presented during The Radio Awards virtual winners’ announcement that will stream via digital channels on 16 July 2021 at 3pm.