e.tv’s ‘House of Zwide’, Mzansi Magic’s ‘DiepCity’ win big at this year’s SAFTAs


It was night of celebrations, glitz and glamour. The much-anticipated SAFTAs (South African Film and Television Awards) took place on Saturday, 3 September 2022.

The annual award ceremony honours, celebrates and rewards excellence in the South African film and television industry and serves to encourage the development of new talent fostering a generation of filmmakers united in the mission of telling authentic South African stories.

Mzansi Magic’s now canned hit telenovela DiepCity bagged five gongs. New kid on the block, e.tv’s House of Zwide followed suit with four golden horns while another e.tv’s baby Scandal! Also scooped four awards.  Fan favourite Showmax’s telenovela The Wife won two awards while 1Magic’s The River walked away with one award.

This year the organisers did not come to play. They pulled out all the stops; they understood the assignment in terms of making sure that the hosts are some of our finest TV presenters in showbiz.

Smash Afrika

Astute Radio and Television presenter Khutso Theledi, comedian and TV personality Mpho ‘Popps’ Modikoane and TV presenter Ryle De Morny all did a stellar job hosting the extravaganza. They were so lively and so refreshing. This trio combination worked like a charm. Their chemistry was quite admirable.

What would be an award show be without the red carpet? We always want to know who and what our favourite celebrities are wearing.

Mzansi’s A-listers came out dressed to the nines to celebrate the local film and Television industry.

Talented TV personalities Palesa Tembe and Lasizwe Dambuza hosted the red carpet event and need we say more? They both did a stellar job.

DJ Zinhle’s hit reality TV show ‘The Unexpected’ won Best Structured Soapie Reality Show, while Cassper Nyovest’s The Braai Show with Cassper won best Variety Show.

The outspoken all round entertainer, Mufasa took to Twitter to express excitement over the win.

“Wtf ? I just won a SAFTA? We just can’t stop winning!!!! #TheBraaiShowWithCass is now a SAFTA WINNING SHOW!!!! Shout out to the team That’s Cake media!!! That’s how #CassperReply !!! Take #4stepsBack!” he tweeted.

Smash Afrika and Candice Modiselle hosted the first day of the SAFTAs, dubbed the Craft Awards, which took place on Friday, a day before the main event.

E.tv’s House of Zwide mopped the floor with its counterparts. The soapie already led the “Craft awards” on Friday scooping a whopping four golden horns for achievement in wardrobe – TV soap/telenovela, best achievement in editing – TV soap/telenovela and best achievement in cinematography – TV soap/telenovela.

Legendary actress Connie Chiume was awarded the coveted Lifetime Award.

Mzansi Magic took to Instagram to congratulate the Gomora Diva’s gigantic win.

“Legendary, timeless and an incredible thespian cannot describe Mam Connie Chiume. A well-deserved SAFTAs golden horn for her lifetime of service to the industry”,  they captioned the post.

Astute media personality Thembisa Mdoda-Nxumalo was voted by the public as the best television presenter, while ‘DiepCity’ was voted the most popular TV Soap or ‘Telenovela’.

Our most talented thespians who bagged golden horns were Natasha Sutherland (’Scandal’) (e.tv), Jerry Mofokeng Wa Makhetha (’Scandal’) (e.tv),  the late Shaleen Surtie Richards ‘Arendsvlei’ (kykNET, kykNet & Kie), Abdul Khoza (’The Wife’) (Showmax), Manaka Ranaka (’Generations’), Thabo Malema (’Scandal’), Nthati Moshesh (’Isono’), Bonko Khoza (’The Wife’), Best TV Soap: Suidooster (kykNET, kykNet & Kie).

The best telenovela gong was awarded to Mzansi Magic’s ‘DiepCity’ while Natasha Loring (’Dam’), Warren Masemola (’Is’phindiselo’), Kim Engelbrecht (’Reyka’), Thobani Dlomo Nzuza (’Mndeni’) – ‘eHostela’ (Mzansi Magic) all came out victorious.

The Best TV Drama award went to ‘4 Mure’ (kykNET) Kate Normington (’Tali’s Baby Dia’), Frank Opperman (kykNET), Julia Anastasopoulos (’Tali Babes’) – ‘Tali’s Baby Diary’ (Showmax), Saint Seseli (’How to Ruin Christmas’) all also bagged awards.

The Best TV Comedy gong was awarded to none other than Tali’s Baby Diary (Showmax). While the best Short Film awards went to #Wearedyinghere.

Nomvelo Makhanya (’I Am All Girls’ (Netflix), Tshamano Sebe (’Angeliena’), Hlubi Mboya-Arnold (’Ntombizonke Papayi’) – ‘I Am All Girls’ (Netflix), Jafta Mamabolo (’Freedom’) – ‘Freedom’ (Showmax) all bagged all respectively bagged awards.

Congratulations to all the winners!

By Sinenzolo Mondi – Nduku